England Announce India / South Africa Squads

England have announced their squads for this summer’s series against India and South Africa.

The campaign begins with a one-off Test and 3 ODIs against India – one of the traditional “Big 4” of women’s cricket; followed by 3 T20s versus up-coming young-guns, South Africa.

The big surprise in the Test squad is the inclusion of uncapped ‘journeyman pro’ Sonia Odedra – an aggressive fast-medium pace bowler from Nottinghamshire.

Fast bowler Katherine Brunt is named in Odedra’s place for the ODIs, as she looks to return from a lengthy injury lay-off; with Odedra presumably remaining on standby should Brunt’s return to fitness prove ephemeral.

Finally, the squad for the T20s is then augmented by young seamer Natasha Farrant, who is also recovering from injury; but who England consider one of their brightest prospects for the future.

Full squads:

  • Charlotte Edwards (Capt)
  • Heather Knight (VC)
  • Tammy Beamont
  • Katherine Brunt (ODI/T20)
  • Kate Cross (Test/ODI)
  • Lydia Greenway
  • Rebecca Grundy
  • Jenny Gunn
  • Danielle Hazell
  • Amy Jones
  • Sonia Odedra (Test)
  • Natalie Sciver
  • Anya Shrubsole
  • Sarah Taylor
  • Lauren Winfield
  • Natasha Farrant (T20)