WBBL “Star-Cap” Levels Playing Field

Australia’s Women’s Big Bash League, which will take place next December-through-January, will cap teams to a maximum of 5 “star” players.

Domestic cricket in Australia has suffered slightly as a spectacle over the years, because so many top players have gravitated towards the New South Wales Breakers, who have won the WNCL 10 seasons in a row and 16 times overall.

Although WNCL is set to continue as a 50-over competition, the key focus will now be on the T20 WBBL, which will feature a much more level playing field.

Teams will be limited to a maximum of 5 “stars” – i.e. current or recent internationals – of which 3 may be overseas players.

This means up to 24 overseas internationals will get to join the party, with England glove-butler Sarah Taylor, West Indies’ big hitting batsman Deandra Dottin, and South African leg-spinning all-rounder Dane van Niekerk, likely to be at the top of many of those wish-lists.

One thought on “WBBL “Star-Cap” Levels Playing Field

  1. Pingback: WBBL Overseas Stars – Who Would YOU Pick? | CRICKETher

Comments are closed.