NEWS: Lauren Bell and Issy Wong In Line for England Debuts This Summer

The ECB have announced that 24 players will return to training on Monday 22 June in preparation for the proposed tri-series between England, India and South Africa in September, with uncapped fast bowlers Lauren Bell and Issy Wong amongst their number.

The announcement suggests that both Bell and Wong, who impressed for Southern Vipers in the KSL last season, could be in line to make their international debuts in September, should the proposed tri-series take place as intended.

With all 22 contracted England players also returning to training, it looks likely that the ECB are expecting the tri-series to consist of a high number of compressed fixtures, meaning that there will be more players in line for international duty than usual this summer.

The training sessions will take place under the same medical guidelines and bio-secure conditions as have been in place for England Men. The 24 players will initially train on their own before progressing to small group training, and they will be based across six different venues: the National Performance Centre, Loughborough; Emerald Headingley, Yorkshire; The Kia Oval, London; Bristol County Ground, Bristol; Chester Boughton Hall CC, Lancashire Cheshire; and the 1st Central County Ground, Hove.

Full squads for the series and a list of fixtures will be announced in due course.

The full list of 24 players returning to training is as follows:

  • Tammy Beaumont (Kent)
  • Lauren Bell (Berkshire / Middlesex)
  • Katherine Brunt (Yorkshire)
  • Kate Cross (Lancashire)
  • Alice Davidson-Richards (Kent)
  • Freya Davies (Sussex)
  • Sophia Dunkley (Surrey)
  • Sophie Ecclestone (Lancashire)
  • Georgia Elwiss (Sussex)
  • Katie George (Hampshire)
  • Sarah Glenn (Worcestershire)
  • Kirstie Gordon (Kent)
  • Amy Jones (Warwickshire)
  • Heather Knight (Berkshire)
  • Emma Lamb (Lancashire)
  • Nat Sciver (Surrey)
  • Anya Shrubsole (Berkshire)
  • Bryony Smith (Surrey)
  • Linsey Smith (Sussex)
  • Mady Villiers (Essex)
  • Fran Wilson (Kent)
  • Lauren Winfield (Yorkshire)
  • Issy Wong (Warwickshire)
  • Danni Wyatt (Sussex)